Mike MacDonagh's Blog

Somewhere in the overlap between software development, process improvement and psychology

Life without computers!

This weekend I’ve spent changing rooms around in my house so the office space has swapped with the baby space. As a result my trusty main computer and numerous gadgets have been in parts and unplugged. I’ve just about coped by accessing my mail via my new funky phone the HTC Touch Dual:

pic of my phone

This thing is great 🙂 I’ve used a SPV M2000 for a few years, which was a great PDA but a rubbish phone that felt like you were holding a brick if you had a conversation over 2 minutes. However, my new HTC Touch Dual combines the best of a stylus operated Window Mobile PDA (which means after downloading a Visual Studio patch my home grown apps like my train timetable checker etc. all work) with the ease of use and simplicity of a phone. It’s got a quite cool touch screen interface on top of the normal Windows Mobile interface which is extremely reminiscent of the iPhone/iPod Touch. My only complaint is that it doesn’t have WiFi just HSDPA, 3G, EDGE & GPRS. But that’s ok because I’ve got an iPod Touch anyway 🙂

Anyway, now my main computers back again I feel complete once more. I must admit to using my son’s laptop a few times. Just to track my latest gadget order you understand…

One response to “Life without computers!

  1. Pingback: What are twitter and hashtags? « The Mac Daddy

What do you think?

