Mike MacDonagh's Blog

Somewhere in the overlap between software development, process improvement and psychology

Windows upate broke my Media Center – now fixed!

So I went to windows update and installed Windows XP SP3 on my main PC. All of a sudden windows Media Player started not working properly and throwing strange errors about component registration failing when I tried to skip forward/backwards or even just leave a video. This was a big problem for me because I use media center with the remote to watch TV on my big flat screen TV in front of the bed.

Fortunately I managed to fix it by googling for a bit and finding this excellent post: linky. It’s a bit techie, but the gist is that you need to:

  1. Download and reinstall the .NET Framework 1.1 SP1
  2. Go to the Start menu, choose Run and type cmd
  3. From the cmd prompt, run %windir%\ehome\medctrro.exe /o /p RunOnce to re-run Update Rollup 2 registration code

Then wait for a bit… Suddenly it all works again 😀

One response to “Windows upate broke my Media Center – now fixed!

  1. Gnocchi August 26, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Thanks a lot! It works!

    Why did Microsoft keep sending updates that screw up our programs? I think I will not let the updates run anymore.

What do you think?

