Mike MacDonagh's Blog

Somewhere in the overlap between software development, process improvement and psychology

Skyblaster USB skype friendly speakerphone rocks

I impulse bought this gadget in Homebase last week for £29, that’s only about $3000 these days 😛 , and it rocks. I’ve always had trouble with skype voice calls – I’ve got a really powerful top of the range PC with just about everything imaginable plugged into it and yet even after replacing the onboard soundcard with a top of the range games soundcard the microphone input (front or back) has always been just rubbish. I’ve tweaked all the tweakable settings to no avail, microphone’s just don’t work on my system.

So I bought this USB speakerphone. It doesn’t use my soundcard and all of a sudden people can hear my dulcit tones over the ewaves 🙂 It’s simple, cheap and works. It’s got buttons to call, hang up, navigate around skype etc. It’s also got inputs for plugging in your super stylish headset with microphone that makes you look like a bad 80s pop act.

Setup was trivial and well documented, and the best bit is that I can just use it whenever I want without unplugging/replugging speakers, microphones, headsets etc. My music still plays through my main speakers, but skype calls come through the speaker phone/attached headset. I’d buy it just to be a headset hub even if I didn’t want an answerphone!

SkyBlaster USB skype friendly speakerphone

SkyBlaster USB skype friendly speakerphone

Now I can finally use it I’m a skypeout convert!

9/10 Mac Daddy points for this great little (about 3in diameter) gadget.

10 responses to “Skyblaster USB skype friendly speakerphone rocks

  1. Pingback: Top tips for giving a good webinar « The Mac Daddy

  2. Noticias de Tecnologia December 30, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Hello, first time in yiur blog, is very interesting, i’m gonna be an assiduous reader, great job! Regards…

  3. Colin Brown January 11, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Hi, very interesting but do you know if this works with MSN or Microsoft communicator 2007??

    • mikemacd January 11, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      Sorry, no idea as I don’t use them. I’d be surprised if it didn’t as it’s just a USB microphone and speaker really. The call control buttons might not work but the basic speakerphone functionality probably would. Just a guess though 🙂

  4. Ben November 29, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I’ve been shopping around for a USB skype speakerphone and came across this skyblaster, after looking around google for 5 or 10 minutes this is the only review I have found of this device. Thanks to your positive feedback I’ve just pulled the trigger and bought one, thanks for taking the time to write about this crazy cheap (and hopefully decent) product!

  5. Bryan Burns August 22, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    Hi.

    It’s sometime since you wrote this article but do you know if this works (at all) on Windows 7 64bit? There is no mention of OS support beyond XP.

    Any comments also about the microphone pickup range (i.e. how far away from the speakerphone can you be and still be heard without echo/feedback?)

    Many thanks for any info.

What do you think?

