Mike MacDonagh's Blog

Somewhere in the overlap between software development, process improvement and psychology

Moving house, broadband woes and blog neglect

So I’ve not blogged in ages for many reasons. I’ve changes my primary client, moved house and got caught up with micro-blogging. All of which means my blog has been sadly neglected. This is a common theme with blogs but I don’t think it’s necessarily a problem. Blogs are there for when you want to publish something, but that doesn’t mean you have to publish noise every day!

Moving house I’ve been stunned by the sheer incompetence of everyone involved. It seems my solicitors simply passed communication back and forth charging loads for the privelege. Estate agents needed chasing on an almost daily basis and the whole thing was very stressful and expensive. At least now I’ve moved, the only problem is it seems that getting broadband in a new house takes (so far) 6 weeks. With xmas around the corner I shall no doubt be further delayed in getting access to my lovely intrawebz. Grrr!

Obviously I’m fairly aware of the somewhat excessive nature of my internet use but I’ve been amazed by how much I rely on it, and go ever so slightly nuts without it. I do most of my communication online so I feel quite cut off. Without my trusty phone I’d be feeling like a hermit! Gah!

What do you think?

