Mike MacDonagh's Blog

Somewhere in the overlap between software development, process improvement and psychology

Behringer iAxe + JACK + rakarrack = awesomeness

I like to play guitar. Not very well, but I enjoy playing. A while ago I added to my collection a Behringer iAxe which is basically a normal electric guitar with a USB port.  It came with a CD of impossible to setup properly and use Windows software for sound effects. Since moving to Ubuntu I’ve been wondering how I’d be able to still play with it but last weekend I decided to try and search.

1 google search, 1 ubuntu software centre search, no reading of instructions and 20 mins later and I had achieved marvellous noise! I installed QJackCtl which starts and stops the realtime audio driver and also lets you map the input to virtual amps and then speakers (without having to read instructions, it mostly worked out what to do for itself) and then rakarrack which is like a big virtual guitar effects board. Then I just plugged in my guitar and make all sorts of horrible noises 😀

It all just worked and best of all it’s all free – well except for the guitar!

What do you think?

