Mike MacDonagh's Blog

Somewhere in the overlap between software development, process improvement and psychology

UNTHINK – first impressions and screenshot

I saw a video for UNTHINK a while ago that appealed to me. I like the idea of total control of my data, of separation between friends, acquaintances and brands/interests. Also I’m a pathological early adopter. I like new things, and the shinier and more buttons the better. Sometimes I get carried away with links too.

I had an early invite to UNTHINK when it opened to public beta, clearly along with many other early adopters. First problem there, the servers couldn’t handle the pressure, there were too many early adopters and without the power of Google behind UT (not the best acronym huh?) the public beta was essentially a fine example of  a DDOS attack.

Anyway, a couple of days later and here’s my first impressions, now I can access the site.

UNTHINK

First of all I find it be gloriously complex. G+ has catered for the simplistic market, but I like complicated things, and this suits me. The UI is reminiscent of the early Facebook and MySpace.  G+ allows me to separate people via circles but I have to set that up, UT has it from the start. It’s all private by default and they tell me I own my content (the unthink emancipation deed). UT prompts me from the very start to control the privacy options of my content, unlike Facebook which decides for me frequently. Finally, it reminds me of uplink for some reason, and that’s double or possibly even triple awesome

But… the social networking market is saturated. Facebook is the Daddy Mac, it’s where everyone is. Some of my techie friends still aren’t on G+ so that’s quiet. UT is positively empty. I keep coming back to Facebook because it’s where people are, many of my friends have no appetite for multiple networks and as with G+ I wish I could cross post with FB.

Whether it catches on or not, it’s existence is a good thing as it will apply pressure on widely adopted networks to provide better features. It wasn’t long after the exposure of G+ circles that Facebook created “Close friends” and “Acquaintances”.

What do you think?

