Mike MacDonagh's Blog

Somewhere in the overlap between software development, process improvement and psychology

How to make real progress in a software project

I’ve not been blogging much this year because I’ve been crazy busy writing software (more on that soon I hope). As you might expect I’ve changed my ways of working more often than process improvement consultants change the name of the process they’re selling but one key thing always seems to drop out whether I’m working on my own, with a team, a team of teams or a globally distributed team.

Do the top thing on the list, whatever it is.

Don’t do anything else until it’s done.

Or in process speak: “Reduce the WIP and clarify the Definition of Done“.

Too often I fall into the trap of doing the most interesting thing from the list, which normally means the most complex. And far too often I get carried away with the next interesting thing before finishing something. Both of these lead me to have far too many things in various states of progress all interfering with each other and me with no idea of how well I’m doing. And that’s assuming I actually know what “finished” means.

Software is complex enough without us making it harder with processes, remember the KISS principle?

What do you think?

